Build your own Garden Tool Rack!

Christopher Lott
8 min readMay 14, 2020

January 2009

Do you hang rakes and shovels on nails in the wall? Time to upgrade :) to a tool rack that holds 30 garden tools in about four square feet, and best of all you build it yourself.

The first version had no wheels

Backstory

A few years ago I was fortunate enough to have some money and a reliable contractor, and the result was a new garage. But once it was done, I couldn’t bring myself to put nails or hooks into the shiny new walls that I had just spent hours and hours painting. So I went off to look at tool racks.

I found some freestanding racks, but they were plastic, pretty expensive and didn’t seem to hold much. Then while shopping at home cheapo I saw a store display rack that looked about right, and I figured I’d try copying it. It worked out pretty well!

Plans and directions are below. I used whatever lumber was lying around.

Tips

  • You need a 2" hole saw. Make sure it is very sharp, and give it a chance to cool down between holes.
  • Adjust the number of connected holes depending on how many of your tools have wide handles, like snow shovels.
  • I’m sure that different materials will work; for example, thicker plywood, 1x3 boards instead of 1x4, etc.
  • You could use inside L brackets, outside (flat) brackets or fancy Kreg fasteners to connect the 1x4 panel frames.
  • Add a set of wheels so you can roll it around.

Diagram

Top, front & side views just like drafting class

Materials

  1. 1/2 sheet 1/2" Douglas fir plywood (4' x 4' x 1/2")
    [alternately 3 pre-cut 2'x2' sheets from a big-box store]
  2. 3 pieces 1 x 4" pine @ 8'
  3. 2 pieces 1 x 4" pine @ 10'
  4. 12 L brackets @ 1 1/2"
  5. box of 100 flat-head wood screws #8 x 1 1/4"
  6. 24 flat-head wood screws #8 x 3/4"
  7. Optional: 4 2" swivel wheels

Cut sheet

  1. Panels: 3 @ 24" x 24" cut from 1/2" plywood
  2. Panel frames: 12 @ 23 1/4" cut from 8' lengths of 1x4"
  3. Legs: 8 @ 30" cut from 10' lengths of 1x4"
  4. Optional: rip down 4 legs to 2 3/4" if the table saw needs some exercise :-)

Assembly

  1. Clamp two 2'x2' (top and middle) plywood panels together.
  2. Drill round holes 2" diameter on 4" centers, set in 1" from sides.
  3. Connect some holes with a jig saw to make ovals as shown, dealer’s choice here, depends on how many large-handle tools you need to store.
  4. Build three panel frames with four 23 1/4" pieces of 1x4 each by
    attaching L brackets on the inside corners with the 3/4" screws.
  5. Attach plywood panels to frames using the 1 1/4" screws.
  6. Attach legs to frame-panel assemblies using the 1 1/4" screws. If you ripped down 4 of them, use pairs of wide and narrow. Leave a gap between the middle and bottom frames for your hand, and another gap between the bottom frame and floor for a broom.
  7. Add wheels (not shown in plans) if you’d like to roll it around.

Too much work? In a hurry?

How do you feel about plastic and steel? Rubbermaid sells a “deluxe tool tower” garage storage unit for about $45, here’s the link: https://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B0009J5NRW

Builder Feedback!

I’ve been delighted to hear from many people who built the tool rack, especially to see how they redesigned it to meet their needs. See their stories and pictures below.

Update October 2010: Chuck of Mansfield, TX sent me a picture of this very fine rack he built using these plans. Sure looks better than mine! He reports that it cost him $45 and four hours labor.

Chuck of Mansfield, TX

Update August 2011: Pete H. of Seattle, WA sent me a picture and this note:

The plans are spot on. Appreciate the cutting notes for the boards. I used pre-cut 2x2 sheets of plywood from Home Cheapo. I added a set of wheels on the bottom. I have this in a corner by the front of my garage door and the wheels allow me to simple roll it out and access any tool I need. I had some left over stain so I used that you make it look “richer”. Too fancy for the garage? The thing is solid and does not tip or get top heavy, something that I was concerned about with the store models.

Re wheels — Four swivel wheels from Home Depot… 2inch … I still have the bill… part number 039003094778 … $3.48 each.

Pete H. of Seattle, WA

Update April 2013: Gaizka L. built a custom version of this tool rack and sent me some details:

I got mine built inspired by your design. Thanks for the concept and the tips. I didn’t follow the blueprints, but borrowed some IP our of it. I did include the wheels for easier access and also added a serrated edge. That way I can just rest a tool that I’m currently using (or in case the rack itself is full). I also found a purchased tool hanger hanging around and I attached it to the side. It might be over-engineered, but is fun to see how it’s been evolving. I can clearly see where my thought process changed during the build.

Gaizka L. of cyberspace

Update February 2015: Brandon C. of Yorktown, TX made a double-wide tool rack:

Just wanted to say thanks for sharing your tool rack plans. I built one 2'x4' with 6 casters and a special hole for my fiskar post hole diggers.

Brandon C. of Yorktown, TX

Update January 2018: Matthew B. of Wakeman, OH supersized the rack plans and sent me a picture of the result:

Hi Chris,

I just wanted to say thank you for the inspiration I found in your garden tool rack plan/blog. I modified it a bit, increasing the dimensions to 48" x 32" and using 3/4" plywood and 2x4s. The added width increased stability and I was able to use an 8-foot sheet of plywood with no waste. I also had to decrease the on-center spacing of the holes to 3–7/8" to allow for a 12 x 8 grid of holes between the outer frames of 2x4s. The materials cost a bit more, but the result is heavy-duty and it saved a ton of space, not to mention holes in my shop liner!

Thanks a ton, Matt B
Wakeman, Ohio

Matt B. of Wakeman, Ohio

Update July 2018: Dodie K. B. of Walnut Creek, CA built a long but shallow version of this tool rack and shared the results:

I don’t know if you are still updating your blog or your blog is still active. But I found your pictures and instructions on how to build a garden tool rack and made a custom one to fit my small shed. Also my wife wanted to put the shovels in with handles up and shovel side down, so had to make modifications after I built it. It’s 16" wide, because I could cut the 3 pieces from one sheet of plywood without any waste.

Size 16" wide x 6' feet long. Took about 8 hours.

Thanks for the instructions!

Dodie K. B. of Walnut Creek, CA

Update Feb 2019: Paulo P. P. of Lisbon, Portugal scaled down the tool rack, upgraded to solid wood and added drawers:

I found your pictures and instructions on how to build a garden tool rack and made a custom one to fit my small workshop.

Size 24" wide x 12" long. I also put 2 drawers.

Thanks for the instructions!

Paulo P. P. of Lisbon, Portugal

Update Feb 2020: Rob C. of Riverbank, CA wrote to say:

Hi Chris,

A few weeks back, I found your blog page for a garden tool rack, as I was searching for ideas to store my lawn tools. First off, great job on the design and instructions, and thanks for posting!

I’ve attached a couple pics of my rendition of your plans. A couple modifications to your design:
1. Used Kreg pocket holes and glue to assemble and join the legs, as well as the frames. Didn’t use L brackets.
2. Used 3/4” plywood, as I wanted to use the leftover for another project. In retrospect, that might not have been the best thing. The 2–1/8” hole saw would not drill through both sheets of 3/4” plywood at once due to the shallow depth of the bit. Added quite a bit of time to drill through one layer, stop, remove the plug, etc… I got through it though.
3. Built it to 18”x36” to better fit the space I’m storing it in.
4. Used corner-mount casters, which are gonna work out really great.
5. Didn’t rip down the 1x4’s for the legs. The time saved in ripping them was worth the extra cost to buy another 1x4.

Anyway, gonna paint it and put all my lawn tools in it this weekend.

Anyway, thanks again for posting!

Rob C. of Riverbank, CA including detail of Kreg fasteners
Rob C’s rack in use

Update April 2020: Matt S. from Duncannon, PA says:

Chris,

Have had you website marked for some time. This year I finally got to it. The plastic one I had was breaking apart and leaning heavily not do to abuse either. I generally treat things well. Made it with existing materials. It’s 2x3' with 3/4" plywood and added some casters. Thought it might be a tad top heavy once loaded so added horizontal 2x6s to base piece. Not sure if necessary. The great grandchildren will be using this one. Thank you for putting up the plans.

Matt from Duncannon, PA.

Matt S. of Duncannon PA

Update July 2020: Kevin M. from Austin, TX built a revised version with a large uncovered section for bulky garden tools:

Hello from Austin TX! I used the long weekend to finally finish making my relatively small version of your tool rack — one by three feet, with holes for two-thirds of that. Thanks for the great plans, it’s the gift that keeps on giving.

Kevin M. of Austin, TX

Your Story Here

Please post a comment with a picture if you build one yourself! Tell me what I forgot and I’ll update this page.

--

--